Big Talk, Little Town II.

The Aftermath of New York: Always Before the Storm

Upon my return,

Backs to me, I go unnoticed.

I am invisible again,

Knuckles pressed to the glass window pane

Before it shatters like my heart did.

It was all I ever had.

In the city,

There’s no talk of the bright meadows or the thick woods.

No talk of hiding in the barn on warm summer nights

Giggling when the girls screamed, “BATS!”

Overgrown pine trees,

Sap on my hands

It was all I ever had.

When did I start to slip?

I guess it got cold that winter.

I should have wiped my eyes in the fall

When the goldenrod made me sneeze.

Running to the fields beyond me,

I was a failed representation of my mental state.

It was all I ever had.

When the sky cleared for spring

Was when I lit the match.

I didn’t want to be invisible, so I bit the hands that fed me.

People closed their ears

And even turned their heads.

I wanted autumn to come again

It was all I ever had.

Upon my my return,

Backs to me, I go unnoticed.

He’ll keep his eyes on the 50 yard line

And only turn his head if I bother to show my face.

Fingerprints on my wrists when I had to leave,

I guess I never was invisible.

His kind words were all I ever had.

So when I return, I flash my smile

In respect to the bridges I burned.

Pick me my goldenrod, 66,

But leave room for me in the headlines.

– 8/28/17

Author: Lannah Mary

An overly-friendly environmental activist, singer, and self-taught writer.

Leave a comment